Coffeeneuring Day Two

The day didn’t start out so well. Actually, if you look at the 24 hour day, it started out well! L and I were at an Oktoberfest party til at least 1 am and it all went downhill from there! I had a RAGING HANGOVER. Think croquet mallet to the head. Think drywall hammer to the temple. Think of Joe Pesci squeezing the guy’s head in a vice!  Something in the German beer did NOT agree with me and I rolled around feeling nauseated until around 3 pm. Decided I just couldn’t miss a little ride on such a nice day. So I saddled up.

Rode south to the Blankenbaker Heine Bros. Coffee. Much more modern facility.
image

Same friendly baristas loving my reason for being there. Got the iced and chilled out. Felt better.
image

Until I mounted the Root Beer float bike and heard a slapping noise and saw that my rear tire was completely flat. Like the tire itself was rolling off the rim.  I just said, “to hell with it” and called in L with the pickup for a ride home.

Swapped out the tube and found the valve stem had started to come out of the rubber on the old one. That’ll make a flat any time…

